William Leishman Memorial

The William Leishman Memorial Trophy was held by the Ayr Petanque Club.

Twenty one players, twenty two if you include Adrian F who acted as host and umpire – eight from Ayr, eight from Troon, five from Perth and Twecher John from the B&B‘s – turned up, albeit on a dampish morning to compete for the WLM Trophy on APC’s piste at the Scottish Bowling Centre in Ayr.
What a splendid turnout compared to recent attendances at Club opens!

Seven triples teams were formed using Adrian’s now traditional ’card trick’ method each team playing a four games. The team of Enid G (Ayr), David Croft-Smith (Troon) and Istvan P (Troon) were too good for the rest of the field and with 4W +35 were worthy winners of the WLM Trophy.
he other teams were –
Malcolm McK, (Troon), Ray McI (Ayr), Paul W (Troon) – 3W +30.
John W (B&B‘s), Jean H and Alice S (both Perth) – 3W +6.
Monika T (Troon), Mary McG (Ayr) and Douglas H (Perth) – 2W +5.
Raymond K (Ayr), Mabel D and Henry H (both Perth) – 2W +2.
Kevin W (Troon), Philomena D Ayr), Stuart K (Ayr) – 0W -31.
Lena Croft-Smith (Troon), Jimmy W (Troon), Wilma W (Ayr) – 0W -31

With twenty one participants and the help of APC’s most generous raffle the sum of £189:00 was raised for William Leishman’s designated Charity.

Thanks to Adrian and APC‘s members for an enjoyable day and we all arrived home well in time for fish and chips for tea – well the Perth lot did!